Lifetime commitment

gsl-awardEach year at our annual Dudley Volunteer Awards, one of the amazing volunteers who has been nominated is chosen to receive the prestigious Gordon Lindsay Award for Long Service. Recipients are people who’ve made a lifetime commitment to volunteering.

The volunteers who are nominated and recognised for this award, all have one very special thing in common – they have all volunteered for at least 25 years.

This award is made in memory of Dudley CVS’s late Chairman, Gordon Lindsay, who’d made a lifetime commitment to volunteering including scouting, setting up and running a social club for people with disabilities, and many other roles.

Why not think if you know a volunteer who’s given a lifelong commitment to volunteering?

Last year’s recipient was another amazing individual with a real passion to make a difference and they’ve been doing it for years. Dave Brownhill was our recipient, so why not read about him here?

Here’s a list of the outstanding volunteers who’ve received this award since its inception:

2016 Dave Brownhill Black Country Radio/Dudley Hospital Radio/Black Country Festival
2015 Alan Hallman Friends of Black Country Living Museum
2014 Heather Cruickshanks Guiding Association
2013 Chris Rich Friends of Priory Park
2012 Bob Fowkes Halesowen Athletic & Cycling Club
2011 Doreen Collins Parkinson’s Disease Association
2010 Annie Miles Lodge Farm Estate
2009 Rosemary Oakley Summerhill Community Association
2008 Mary Barker Action for Disabled People and Carers
2007 Bob Sandall High Acres Woodcraft Folk
2006 Doreen Harper British Polio Fellowship
2005 June Bowen 3rd Brierley Hill [St Michael’s] Scouts
2004 Colin Timbrell Age Concern Halesowen
2003 Dorothy Rowe Brook Parent & Toddler Group